23.—Legislatures and Premiers of British Columbia, 1933-54, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1954

Legislatures,	1933-541
---------------	----------

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Nov. 2, 1933 ² June 1, 1937 Oct. 21, 1941 Oct. 25, 1945 June 15, 1949 June 12, 1952 June 9, 1953	18th General Assembly. 19th General Assembly. 20th General Assembly. 21st General Assembly. 22nd General Assembly. 23rd General Assembly. 23rd General Assembly. 24th General Assembly.	5 4 5 4	Feb. 20, 1934 Oct. 26, 1937 Dec. 4, 1941 Feb. 21, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 3, 1953 Sept. 15, 1953	Apr. 15, 1937 July 22, 1941 Aug. 31, 1945 Apr. 16, 1949 Apr. 10, 1952 Mar. 27, 1953

¹ The Ministries from 1933-54 were: 22nd Ministry, sworn in Nov. 15, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. T. D. Pattullo; 23rd Ministry, sworn in Dec. 10, 1941, under the leadership of Hon. John Hart; 24th Ministry, sworn in Dec. 29, 1947, under the leadership of Hon. B. I. Johnson; 25th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 1, 1952, under the leadership of Hon. W. A. C. Bennett. ² Owing to the death of a candidate, polling day was delayed in the Electoral Districts of Vancouver Centre and Victoria City until Nov. 27, 1933. ² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1954.

Twenty-Fifth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 9, 1953: 28 Social Credit, 14 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 4 Liberals, 1 Progressive Conservative, 1 Labour.)

NOTESee	headnote	to T	able 15.
---------	----------	------	----------

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment		Date of Present Appointment	
Premier, President of the Council, and Minister of Finance Provincial Secretary and Minister of Municipal Affairs. Attorney-General. Minister of Lands and Forests and Minister of Mines Minister of Agriculture Minister of Public Works Minister of Railways, Minister of Trade and Industry, and Minister of Fisheries Minister of Labour Minister of Labour Minister of Health and Welfare	 Hon. WILLIAM ANDREW CECIL BENNETT. HON. WESLEY DREWETT BLACK HON. ROBERT WILLIAM BONNER. HON. ROBERT EDWARD SOMMERS HON. WILLIAM KENNETH KERNAN HON. PHILIP ARTHUR GAGLARDI. HON. WILLIAM RALPH TALBOT CHETWY IND. HON. RAL GUILS WILLISTON HON. RAY GILLS WILLISTON HON. ETIC CHARLES FITZGERALD MARTIN. 	Aug. 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 1,	1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952	Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug.	1, 1952 1, 1952 1, 1952 1, 1952 1, 1952 1, 1952 1, 1952 1, 1952 14, 1954 1, 1952

Subsection 11.-Yukon and Northwest Territories

Yukon Territory.—The Yukon was created a separate Territory in June 1898. Provision is made for a local Government composed of a Chief Executive, styled Commissioner, and an elective Legislative Council of five members with a three-year tenure of office. The Commissioner administers the Government under instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances dealing with the imposition of local taxes, sale of liquor, preservation of game, establishment of territorial offices, maintenance of prisons and municipal institutions, issue of licences, incorporation of companies, solemnization of marriage, property